Monthly Archives: January 2011

Eli’s First Day of School…

Eli's first day of school in England.

Eli with Orange Sticker Skooter

I walked Eli to his first day at Laycock Primary School today. He rode a scooter we had purchased for him the day before yesterday. We were initially a little nervous about him riding on Day One– the possibilities of some real-life nightmare where you arrive at school for your first day crying, soaked to the bone, and bleeding profusely from a scalp wound was almost enough to trigger an executive veto from Lana & I– but he seemed so EARNEST about NEEDING to ride his scooter (which has ORANGE stickers, not red like it showed on the box which is EVEN BETTER), we acquiesced. Did I mention it was raining? Yes, I recognize that there is a certain stereotype involved concerning English weather, but it hasn’t been raining much since we got here– but it was this morning. Anyway, he rode, I walked. He in his new, pristine (un-bloodied) school uniform (navy sweatshirt, yellow polo, navy trousers), new matte black helmet, and new blue Columbia parka. I was remembering other first days– kindergarten, for instance, where Lana & I were both… well… teary– and feeling generally nostalgic, when suddenly I realized we were heading down a (relatively) steep curved hill with construction works across the pavement (you know… what we call the “sidewalk”) at the base of the hill. I asked him to stop & walk his scooter, and he executed a rather smart, kinda complicated braking move (which ended with him grabbing the scooter up & handing it off to me to be carried– very smooth), and we walked down the hill. I gave the scooter back when we were past the construction, and he rolled on. We were one road away from his school (since they don’t have anything approaching a grid system for traffic, this is a the nearest approximation of “a block”) when, between gliding pumps of his right foot, he casually said, “You would NEVER know I’ve never ridden a scooter before!” Taking my shocked, gibbering silence for approbation, he continued, “And I only fell that once…” Here began my response with a very clever, “Fall? When? WHAT?” He replied, “You know, when I fell stopping [sic, recte while stopping] on the hill & you grabbed my hand.” I chose to keep schtum & see what other jewels of unknown import would drip from this cracked treasure trove. “You know– I fell, you grabbed my hand & took the scooter away?” I immediately (and, I hope, kindly) corrected his misapprehension about “taking the scooter away” (holding back my shrieking internal commentary about wishing I had taken the scooter away the moment we had returned from the toy store & thrown it over the garden shed), and stuttered on into an incomprehensible series of questions / statements about how every other kid in the neighborhood back home had a scooter and was he sure he hadn’t even GOTTEN ON one before and “No, It Really Looked Like You Knew What You Were Doing” and above all why was this COMING TO MY ATTENTION NOW? He was non-plussed. Very casual. “Oh, I always wanted to try one, and I thought it looked like something I could do.”

I guess ours is not to reason why, but to be glad when our well-meaning seven-year-olds DON’T go careening down the street & flatten themselves against some unsuspecting soul’s Citroën.

The final chapter of this story (or epilogue of a novelette, given my wind-baggery) came later. Tonight, after supper, Eli wrote a postcard to his class back at Acacia Elementary today in Fullerton– I include an image here, and let the highlighted area deliver the final “blow.”

The "blow."

"I ride a skooter to school! Every Day!"

—   —   —   —   —

So, at 3:30, we came to pick Eli up. Sans scooter (though he WILL probably ride again tomorrow, all things being equal). He was unfazed– didn’t even ask about it. It sounds like the first day went well. They had gym, which seems like another possibility for new-kid mortification, but he thought it was cool; they did gymnastics, which “turned out to be a lot of fun.” Lana and I managed to hide our bemusement at the casually mentioned fact that the entire (co-ed) class changed into their gym uniforms together– remembering that this area has a high Muslim population, no less– and asked if any part of the day (including… say.. THAT one) had caused any embarrassment. He said no. The conversation really concluded later tonight, though, when he confided that he was glad he had been wearing his black bear boxers. “‘Cause they look like cool shorts, anyway.”

2 Comments

Filed under Going To English School, In England

Finley Almost Died Last Night. Or Perhaps, the Last Three Nights. Because I Almost Killed Her.

So. Turns out Eli has always had a gift for working through jet-lag. Who knew? We were blissfully ignorant in the past that his behaviour wasn’t the norm. NOW, however, we know. Neither of the girls has… adapted… well… to the time change. A caveat here: Eli has been doing as much walking as Lana & I, so his physical weariness may be helping offset any kind of two-thirty-in-the-morning waking. NOT-SO-MUCH FOR FINLEY. Each & every night so far, she has been up & on FIRE from 2:30am GMT onward. Kind words, promises, cajoling murmurs… threats… a freaking cat-o’nine tails can’t really stop the Finley train once it pulls out of station. And, as she is sharing a room with Eli, eventually the sound of blows, the screamed imprecations, and the totally unveiled and almost daringly flourished threats cause him to wake… and then the circus goes from two rings to three. Added to which is the fact that neither of the twin beds in that room has a mattress comfortable for an adult’s back, so in the (late) morning, when we finally wake (as Finley usually winds down / suddenly stops around 7:30 or 8:00am & falls into a deep sleep, anesthetizing all three of us), my back is as twisted as a Pretzel Time pretzel. (A little Oakview Mall reference for my fellow Omahans out there.)

So… we stagger bloodily onwards. We are trying to make her exercise as much as possible during the day, filling her up with food at dinner & bedtime… and have finally found a way to tape the gag in place that won’t pull on her hair (just kidding, grandparents).

I have missed much of the epic battle that Lana has fought with Sawyer on much of the same ground– that has been happening in “our” bedroom, whilst I have been in the “kids” room. We have varying theories about what is going on with Sawyer, but as a 6-month-old is normally fairly reticent with the details, painting the conversation with “broad strokes,” as it were, we are mostly guessing. We think that her Pack n’ Play (which was a left for us by the management service) may be different enough from her crib at home that it is causing her some stress– might be a bit cold in the room, though studies seem to suggest that moderately colder might be better (and it’s not all that cold– and neither is she, when Lana has picked her up), the lack of a fan (who knew that there were studies out about that? We just did it for the noise… ), or… perhaps… just… jetlag. I mean, if people think you should allow a day of recuperation for each hour of time change, we really haven’t been here long enough for things to have “settled out.” We’ve got the White Noise app on my phone going full voice now, and that seems to have helped by preventing most of the waking via startle, especially during the day. (Sidenote: she is the MOST easily startled baby– and I can’t decide if that is strangely curious or certifiably WARRANTED, given her siblings)

Realistically, I should go to bed now, though– as I should be hearing from Finley in about 3 1/2 hours.

___

Edit: Last night went MUCH better. Finley woke up once– at 1:30am– and went back to sleep when walked back into her room. She got up for the day at 5:30am, which (hopefully) means she will be even more ready for bed at bedtime. Sawyer continues to be troublesome (inasmuch as she is ever “troublesome”)– getting up several more times than usual (like every hour from 9:30pm ’til 12:30am and then up at 4:00, for an hour, and back to bed until 8:00, whew). As mentioned above, hopefully this will have settled out in eight days…

3 Comments

Filed under In England

Working With WordPress…

…is not as intuitive as I would like. I have spent quite a while messing with the layout of the blog (using the “theme” I have chosen through WordPress), and I can see the attraction to doing this in the other (non-free) manner available to users of the WordPress software. It took WAY to long to format & insert the new “LAX to Heathrow” graphic I posted there in the sidebar, and I STILL am not quite sure how to easily add a cycling set of images showing the new flat. All of this has conspired to make me spend several hours “computing” with no visible result… something Lana alternately mocks & berates me for. At least I was not doing so & simultaneously ignoring the needs of our children. Evidently, this is something I do.

Tristan: (type, type, type, stare at screen)

Child One: “Dad, can I have some milk?”

Tristan: (type, stare, noncommittal grunt)

Child Two: “Dad, can I play outside?”

Tristan: (type, type, type, stare at screen)

Child One: “DAD. Can I PLEASE have some MILK?”

Child Two: “I was here first!” (obviously untrue) “I WANT TO GO OUTSIDE!”

Tristan: (type, stare at screen, turn toward noise, squint, turn back to screen, type)

Child One: “I WAS HERE FIRST! AND I am getting the milk MYSELF!” (sound of fridge door opening, wet splat as milk hits kitchen floor)

Tristan: (type, type, type)

Child Two: “FINE!” (child exits. door slams. sound of screeching tires immediately outside door.)

Tristan: (type, type, pause) “Wait. Did someone need milk?”

(all is quiet)

Tristan: (to self) “Hmpf. Thought somebody wanted something.” (type, stare at screen, type, pause, looks down) “HEY! Where did all this milk come from?”

OR AT LEAST THIS IS WHAT LANA WOULD HAVE YOU BELIEVE.

Decide for yourself, based on your knowledge of my character. Do not inform me of your ruminations– I would prefer to falsely assume everyone’s good opinion of my character.

Tomorrow, I will (again) attempt to provide some images of our new flat.

2 Comments

Filed under In England